[GH-ISSUE #1259] Restore access to admin #485

Closed
opened 2026-10-13 20:22:30 +00:00 by bsakaguchi · 3 comments
Owner

Originally created by @ultraleks on GitHub (Nov 17, 2024).
Original GitHub issue: https://github.com/amnezia-vpn/amnezia-client/issues/1259

I was lost my device, where i setted up self-hostd Amnezia VPN. How i can restore settings to another device to control all users on server?
I tryed add server on other device in app Amnezia, but is started to install server. Is this action - setting up new instances of Amnezia? If i did it - i will lost all already configured users?

Originally created by @ultraleks on GitHub (Nov 17, 2024). Original GitHub issue: https://github.com/amnezia-vpn/amnezia-client/issues/1259 I was lost my device, where i setted up self-hostd Amnezia VPN. How i can restore settings to another device to control all users on server? I tryed add server on other device in app Amnezia, but is started to install server. Is this action - setting up new instances of Amnezia? If i did it - i will lost all already configured users?
Author
Owner

@virussell commented on GitHub (Nov 23, 2024):

The only way is to reinstall Amnezia on the server. Yes, this will cause other users to lose their settings, they will need to be issued new keys.

<!-- gh-comment-id:2495492071 --> @virussell commented on GitHub (Nov 23, 2024): The only way is to reinstall Amnezia on the server. Yes, this will cause other users to lose their settings, they will need to be issued new keys.
Author
Owner

@Nethius commented on GitHub (Nov 24, 2024):

The only way is to reinstall Amnezia on the server. Yes, this will cause other users to lose their settings, they will need to be issued new keys.

this is not true, you can use the “skip setup” option and then click “Check the server for previously installed Amnezia services” in the server settings

<!-- gh-comment-id:2495763512 --> @Nethius commented on GitHub (Nov 24, 2024): > The only way is to reinstall Amnezia on the server. Yes, this will cause other users to lose their settings, they will need to be issued new keys. this is not true, you can use the “skip setup” option and then click “Check the server for previously installed Amnezia services” in the server settings
Author
Owner

@AtaarSatag commented on GitHub (Aug 2, 2025):

The only way is to reinstall Amnezia on the server. Yes, this will cause other users to lose their settings, they will need to be issued new keys.

this is not true, you can use the “skip setup” option and then click “Check the server for previously installed Amnezia services” in the server settings

OR you can go to Share VPN Access > ⋮ menu > Share > choose a server > Share button, then copy a key and add it as a regular VPN.

<!-- gh-comment-id:3146609962 --> @AtaarSatag commented on GitHub (Aug 2, 2025): > > The only way is to reinstall Amnezia on the server. Yes, this will cause other users to lose their settings, they will need to be issued new keys. > > this is not true, you can use the “skip setup” option and then click “Check the server for previously installed Amnezia services” in the server settings OR you can go to Share VPN Access > ⋮ menu > Share > choose a server > Share button, then copy a key and add it as a regular VPN.
Sign in to join this conversation.
No labels
pull-request
No milestone
No project
No assignees
1 participant
Notifications
Due date
The due date is invalid or out of range. Please use the format "yyyy-mm-dd".

No due date set.

Dependencies

No dependencies set.

Reference
amnezia-vpn/amnezia-client#485
No description provided.